By Renee Williams, Photo Credit: John Harpring

Ashley White, also known as “Ashley Campbell” on air, 37, is an anchor and reporter for WJBF News Channel 6. She is married to Nathan White, who is a Sgt. with Columbia County Sheriff’s Office. They have one child, McKenna who is 14 months old and a cat, Jasper, who Ashley rescued filling in on the morning NBC 26 Today show during the holidays. When she got married, she also, “inherited” a cat. Ashley is on the board of Safe Homes Domestic Violence Center and the Marketing Chair for Safe Homes.

One word you would use to describe yourself: Perfectionist.

If you could have any job, what would you choose? I would choose to be a journalist, as I am now. I give people a voice who may not have one and I hold people, businesses and government accountable. If I can go to sleep knowing that I helped at least one person, then I’m happy.

What quality do you most admire the most? Honesty.

What’s your favorite food? I’m not into carbs or sugar so it’s protein and green veggies.

Dream vacation? No doubt, Italy.

Favorite place to take the kids? My daughter is 14 months and we are planning our first trip to Palm Coast, Florida.

If you had a super power, what would it be? To change bad into good. There’s too much hate in the world right now.

Favorite TV show: A lot of bad reality shows.

What did you want to be when you grew up? At first, I wanted to be a marine biologist so I could help save the manatees.

Hobbies? I had many before my lovely daughter came along. Now, it’s whatever makes her happy.

Is there an important life lesson you’ve learned? It’s sad to say but, “Be careful who you trust.” That comes from being a journalist for 11 years.

What would surprise people about you? It’s going to sound so basic…that I have naturally curly hair.

Best thing about being a mom? Being a mom- I can’t explain it. I give my heart and soul to my daughter every second and she comes before anyone and anything. I was so selfish before she came into my life.

Hardest part about being a mom? I had complications before and after birth where “at home” rehab was needed to help me walk again. After 8 months of different types of rehabilitation, I’m doing much better.

Favorite indulgence? Salsa.

What was your first job? I worked as a server at Longhorn Steakhouse on Washington Road in Augusta when I was 18.

Whom do you admire the most? I’d say my husband, no doubt.

Signature dish? The mashed cauliflower that I’ve finally mastered! Score.

Are you a planner, a dreamer or a doer? Doer, you can’t be in my profession and be a dreamer.

Favorite subject in school? Without a doubt, English.

Greatest hope: To make a difference in someone’s life in a positive way. That includes my daughter.

This article appears in the September 2018 issue of Augusta Family Magazine.
Did you like what you read here?